Sep 23

Solar Observatory Council (SOC)

Council Charter (pdf)

The SOC provides oversight for the National Solar Observatory (NSO).

Taft Armandroff

McDonald Observatory and Department of Astronomy
The University of Texas at Austin

Christoph Baranec

University of Hawaiʻi

Terri Fiez

University of Colorado at Boulder

Jeff Hall

Lowell Observatory

Jason Jackiewicz (Appointed)

New Mexico State University

Feng-Chuan Liu (Appointed)

TMT International Observatory

Matt Mountain (ex officio)


Kathy Reeves

CFA Harvard

Philip Scherrer

Stanford University

Barbara Thompson


Amy Winebarger


Thomas Woods (Chair)

Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics
University of Colorado